Sofia - User Guide

The full item is displayed by clicking on a title or cover in the results list.

This includes the main information from the results list (title, author, year of publication, etc.).

Export and save options are on the top right:

Cite: Obtain a bibliographic reference in a given style (APA, MLA, etc.) or export the bibliographic data to EndNote or RIS format.

Share: Obtain the URL for the item or send an email with a link to the item.

Save: Add to My Items at the top of the page.

Please note: If you are not signed in to your Sofia account, items will only be saved during the work session. To save them permanently, you must sign in.

The item includes several other sections to open and close as needed. Some items may not include all of the following sections.

• Description: provides detailed information on the item’s format and content: physical dimensions, abstract, subject matter, notes, etc. It also includes different identifiers and standard issues.
• Browse the Shelf (bottom of page): displays item on a virtual shelf with the other items that have a similar call number, and could therefore be relevant. Navigate left and right to see the next items. Items could be digital or located in different branches.
• Explore Editions & Formats: displays different copies or editions of the item, such as earlier editions, other languages, other formats (e-book, large-print books, microform, etc.) Every edition includes summary information; click on a title to access the item.
• Availability: displays different options to retrieve the item. You may for example hold the item or request an interlibrary loan.

One or several of the following sections may come up:

• Access Online: displays digital items with a hyperlink. Access conditions are specified in Notes.
• Other Availability & Holdings :
  • Quebec Academic Libraries: displays items from other libraries affiliated with the Quebec University Library Partnership. You consult or borrow the items on site, but interlibrary loans are usually preferred. Click on the [Request via Sofia *] button. For licencing purposes, you may not directly access digital items from other institutions. A note to this effect shall be displayed.
    • [Name of Institution]: displays copies from [Name of Institutions] with exact location and availability. If available, you may hold the item by clicking on the [Request/Hold] button (see [Hold section]). Select the item and pick-up location in the dialog window.
  • International Libraries: displays copies from other libraries around the world that have deposited their collections in WorldCat. Click on [Request via Interlibrary Loan] (if available) to request an interlibrary loan, which is transferred through Colombo. You may also click on a specific library to consult its catalogue directly.