Literature review and research

Template for writing a thesis :

• Theses (classic / by articles) in Word format

The structure and number of chapters or articles in a thesis may vary according to the specifics of your field of study. You are therefore invited to discuss this with your supervisor.

For more details on the requirements for supervised projects, we recommend that you read the following guide:

• Thesis Guidelines and Requirements

See our video capsules (in French only) on how to use the templates.

Template for writing a dissertation :

• Dissertations (classic / by articles) in Word format
• LaTeX class document and templates

The structure and number of chapters or articles in a dissertation may vary according to the specifics of your field of study. You are therefore invited to discuss this with your director of studies.

See our video capsules on how to use dissertation templates.

If you have difficulties with the templates, please make an appointment (online or in Côte-Sainte-Catherine) with technical support. 

The documents used in the writing of an assignment must be grouped together in a bibliography inserted at the end of the assignment.

For a thesis or dissertation, the bibliography is called a reference list and contains only the documents cited in the work.

Certain rules must be respected:

• bibliographical references must be presented in a uniform and coherent manner;
• references are organized alphabetically by author.

The HEC Montréal style takes into account the typographical rules drafted by the Office québécois de la langue française and is inspired by the American Psychological Association's APA 7th style. It is recommended for students writing in French.

For more information on how to write a bibliography, consult the guides : 

• Bibliographie selon le style HEC Montréal (in French only)
• Bibliography according to APA style, 7th edition

Bibliographic management software automates the writing of bibliographies. Find out how to do so using :

• EndNote (HEC style available)
• Zotero (APA style 7th edition available)

If you've used Word templates, consult the capsule to move your bibliography (in French only) correctly within the document.

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office defines copyright as “the exclusive right to produce or reproduce a work or substantial part thereof in any form. This right also includes the right to perform a work or, in the case of a lecture, the right to give it, and the right to publish an unpublished work.”

In Canada, the Copyright Act is under federal jurisdiction. It requires the author's permission to reproduce and distribute his or her work. It does, however, provide for exceptions, i.e. situations where authorization is not required. Foreign works, when used in Canada, are also protected by Canadian law.

Examples of protected works:

• article;
• book;
• table;
• chart;
• interview grid;
• image;
• photograph;
• etc.

For further information, please consult the Copyright guide (in French only) .