Zotero - English

It is possible to add bibliographic references manually:

1. In Zotero, click on the following icon:  ;

2. Select the corresponding document type (journal article, book, etc.);

3. Fill in the necessary fields by consulting the APA 7 guide or the HEC bibliographic style guide.

You can add a reference to your library by simply entering the item's unique identifier number.

1. Find the document's identifier (ISBN for a book, ISSN for a journal, DOI for an article);

2. In Zotero, click on the following icon  and enter the number;

3. Check the reference in the library and adjust if necessary, so that the information matches the HEC bibliographic style.

Factiva

• In the results window, click on the extensions and select Zotero

• Select the desired reference(s) and click on OK.

• Select the group in Zotero (if you have more than one group)
• The reference(s) will be added in Zotero

How do I attach a file to a reference?

1. Select the reference in the central column of Zotero;

2. Click on the paperclip icon  and select the desired option (a URL link, a file copy or a file);

3. Select the URL or file as the case may be.

Which option should I choose?

• Attaching a saved copy of a file allows you to store data in the Zotero directory. When you synchronize your account, the file copies will also be synchronized;
• Attach a link to a file or Attach a link to a URL allows you to create a link to the location of your file (on your computer or on the internet). Be careful, if the file is moved or if a URL link is broken, you will not be able to consult the document from Zotero. However, this option has the advantage of not taking any space in your Zotero account.

How to consult a file linked to a reference?

Two ways:

• Double-click on the reference in the center column and choose "View PDF" or "View File";
• On the reference in the middle column, click on the right button and choose "View PDF" or "View file".

To determine the location of a linked or copied file, right-click and select "Locate File".

Tags are keywords that you can associate with a bibliographic reference. They allow you to classify bibliographic references more efficiently in your library.

When you import a reference from a database, it may already have tags. It is possible to remove and/or add them. These modifications are made in the right-hand panel, under the "Tags" tab.

The sort and search functions can help you navigate your reference list as it fills up.

• You can sort documents using the horizontal bar at the top of the center column by clicking on "Title", "Creator" or "Document Type". To add a category to the bar, right-click in the horizontal bar, then on More Columns; select desired categories from the list ;
• A search box allows you to do a simple search in the records, the tags and the PDF documents associated with the references.

The magnifying glass icon  allows you to perform an advanced search with several search options.

Clicking on this icon  allows you to create two types of notes    :

• Child notes are created as an attachment to a specific item. Select a reference, then click on New Note -- Add Child Note, or click on the Notes tab in the reference record (right-hand panel) and click Add. You can also right-click the title in your list of references and Add Note. A standalone note can be linked to a reference by dragging and dropping ;
• Standalone notes are not linked to any particular bibliographic reference. Click on New Note -- New Standalone Note. They can be linked to any item.

• By selecting the Duplicates folder in the left column, you can identify bibliographic references that you have in multiple copies in the software.
• Zotero compares documents with the same title, DOI or ISBN. 
• It is possible to merge bibliographic records present in multiple copies. This way, your citations and bibliographies inserted in a word processor will not be affected.