Skip to Main Content

EndNote - English

Reference Management Tool

What is EndNote ?

Manage your bibliographic references with EndNote.

EndNote allows you to :

  • improve bibliographic references by adding keywords and reading notes
  • locate references more efficiently
  • produce bibliographies according to a specific bibliographic style
  • share references from the EndNote library
  • annotate documents in PDF format
  • insert references in a text document (Microsoft Word, Pages, OpenOffice)

Download EndNote 2025

Please note:

You should remove previous versions from your computer before installing the new EndNote 25 version.

Authentication: student number + centralized password

Terms of use

Installation and use of the software are limited to HEC Montréal students, teaching staff, and employees of the School. Anyone whose library status is no longer in good standing must uninstall the software.
By using these resources, the user agrees to use them for personal purposes only.

 

Very important! After installing EndNote, go to Help ➞ Check for Updates... and then allow the updates to install.

Creating a Library

The database created with EndNote is called a Library.

  1. Open the EndNote software
  2. From the menu, select File > New...
  3. In the New Reference Library box, choose the destination and enter the file name.
  4. Click on Save.

A .enl file and a .data folder are automatically created.

Clicking on the .enl file will allow you to open your library.

IMPORTANT

  1. The .data folder contains the library data and must be kept in the same location as the .enl file at all times.
  2. Using a library on a network, as well as in the cloud (e.g. DropBox) is strongly discouraged. You must be able to open your library without an Internet connection (your computer, a USB key, an external drive, etc.).
  3. It is recommended to create a single library (database) to make it easier to work with Word.

Backup copy

It is recommended that you periodically back up your library.

  • Open your library
  • Menu : File > Compress Library (.enlx) ...
  • To save everything, select the following :

  • Click on Next
  • Name the file with the word backup, for example: library-backup.enlx

This .enlx file contains the .DATA folder and the .enl file.

IMPORTANT

The .enlx file can be saved in the cloud, BUT must be transferred to your computer BEFORE opening.

Change the settings for a PDF search

Retrieve the PDF of references already in EndNote.

Menu Edit > Preferences... > Find Full Text

  • OpenURL Path :
    • https://hecmontreal.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles/link
  • URL :
    • http://proxy2.hec.ca/login?
  • Check the box Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references if you want the search to be done automatically when references are added to your library.

Download the HEC Montreal style

To install the file on your computer:

  1. Click on the link to open it in EndNote.
  2. Menu File > Save as.
  3. Delete the word "copy" if necessary to keep only "HEC_Montreal" as file name.
  4. Click on Save.
  5. Menu File > Close Style.

For more information on the HEC Montréal style, consult the guide :

Bibliothécaire

Profile Photo
Daphné Bélizaire
Contact:
Bibliothèque HEC Montréal
Édifice Côte Sainte-Catherine
Local 2.524
(514) 340-6114