Skip to Main Content

EndNote Web - English

Create your bibliography

Hundreds of bibliographic styles (e.g. APA or Chicago) are available with EndNote Web.

Under the Format tab, click on Bibliography.

  1. Click on the References drop-down menu to select those that will be included in the bibliography. These can be all the references from your library, a list or a group.
  2. Click on the Bibliographic style drop-down menu to see the list of styles available with EndNote Web.
  3. Select the appropriate style.
  4. Click on the File Format drop-down menu to choose the export format of the bibliography (HTML, TXT or RTF).
  5. Save the bibliography, send it by E-Mail or print it (Preview & Print).

It is possible to select bibliographic styles to have them appear in the drop-down menu.

  1. Click on Select Favorites (to the right of the Bibliographic style drop-down menu)
  2. Select the preferred style(s).
  3. Click on Copy to Favorites.

Styles can also be removed (Remove from Favorites) in this way.

Cite in Word

Under the Format tab click on Cite While You Write Plug-In and follow the instructions to install the plug-in that will allow you to use EndNote Web in a Word document when inserting citations and/or producing a bibliography.

Once the plug-in is installed, go to Word:

  • Click on the EndNote Web tab or the EndNote X5 tab (to switch to EndNote Web: Preferences > Application > EndNote Web).
  • Use the Find Citations button to find the reference you want to insert in the text.
  • Click on Insert.

Edit a citation in Word

Useful for specifying a citation in the text.

  1. Connect to My EndNote Web.
  2. In the Word document, position the cursor on the citation you want to edit.
  3. Click on Edit Citation(s) in the EndNote Web tab.
  4. Enter the desired changes. To add a page, enter only its number.

Edit a bibliography in Word

  1. Log in to My EndNote Web.
  2. In the Word document, click anywhere in the bibliography.
  3. Click on the arrow in the Bibliography box on the EndNote tab (in Word).
  4. Click on the Layout tab.
  5. Specify the title of the reference list, the indentation of the references and the spacing between the references.
  6. Click on OK.