Many bibliographic databases are compatible with EndNote. These databases create, from selected references, a file in a format that EndNote is able to import.
Depending on the database used, it will be a direct or indirect import.
Direct Import
The selected references are imported directly into EndNote from the database.
Indirect import
The selected references are saved in a file from the database. Import the file into EndNote.
Click on the database to learn about the import procedure.
+ Sofia Discovery Tool
Import type : direct
A single reference :
- From the list of results, click on Cite above the title
- In the "Cite" window, click on Export to EndNote in the left-hand menu.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser
- EndNote will open automatically and the reference will be imported.
- Check the information for accuracy and make corrections if necessary.
A set of references:
- From the list of results, select the desired references by clicking on the Save star above the title.
- Click on Saved Records in the upper right-hand corner.
- In the "Saved Records" window, click Cite above the list of references.
- In the "Citation List" window, choose Export to EndNote from the left-hand menu.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
- Check the information for accuracy and make corrections if necessary.
+ EBSCO
Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, etc.
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select the desired references by clicking on the folder icon located to the right of the reference.
- Click on Folder located above the list of results.
- In the "Articles" window, select the references you want to import, then click on Export in the right-hand menu.
- The "Export Manager" window will open, make sure that Direct export to RIS. format is selected. Then click Save.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ Proquest
ABI/Inform Complete, Canadian Business & Current Affairs Databases (CBCA), Dissertation & Theses Global, etc.
The list is not exhaustive, click on Modify databases for all our subscriptions.
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select the desired references by checking the box to the left of the reference.
- Click on the Selected Items folder at the top right of the screen.
- Click on the 3 dots icon ...
- Click on the RIS icon RIS.
- Click on Continue.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ ACM Digital Library
Import type : direct (one reference at a time)
- From the list of results, click on the hyperlink of the title of the desired reference.
- Above the abstract, click on the quotation marks icon (").
- The Export Citations window will open, in the drop-down menu choose EndNote, then download the citation by clicking on the underlined arrow icon at the bottom right.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your citations will be imported.
+ AR Annual Review
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, click on the hyperlink of the title of the desired reference.
- Click on Download Citation located in the middle of the page.
- On the Citation Manager page, check EndNote.
- Click on the Download article citation data button.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ Cairn
Import type : direct
- From the CAIRN home page, under Log in/Sign up, log in or create an account
- From the list of results, select the desired references by clicking on the icon located to the right of the reference.
- Under your name, located at the top right of the page, click on My reading lists.
- Choose the right reading list and click on it
- In your reading list page, click on the Export and choose EndNote (.ENW)
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select the desired references by clicking on the folder icon to the right of the reference.
- On the right side of the page, under Folder contains items, click on Folder view.
- A new window will open. On the right side of the page, click on Export.
- A window named Export Manager opens. Click on Save.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ Emerald
Import type : direct
A single reference :
- From the list of results, locate the desired reference and click on the article title.
- Under Citation, click on Download as .RIS.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
A set of references :
- From the list of results, select the desired references by checking the box to the left of the reference.
- Locate Citation at the top right of the results list and click on Download RIS
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ ERIC
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select the desired references by clicking on the folder icon to the right of the reference.
- On the right side of the page, under Folder contains items, click on Folder View.
- A new window will open. On the right side of the page, click on Export.
- A window named Export Manager opens. Click on Save.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ Érudit
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, click on the quotation marks (") Cite this article located to the right under save.
- In the Citation Tools window, click on ENW, Endnote, Zotero.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ Eureka
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select the desired references by checking the box to the left of the reference.
- Click on the Export icon located above the list of results.
- From the menu, click on Export to RIS.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ IEEE Xplore
Import type : direct
- From the results list, select the desired references by checking the box to the left of the reference.
- Click on Export located above the list of results in the blue menu, choose the Citations tab, check the RIS box and then click on Export.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ JSTOR: Journal Storage
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select the references by checking the box to the left of the reference.
- Click on Export Selected Citations on the right, above the list of results.
- Select Export a RIS file (For EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, RefWorks, Zotero...).
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ Nexis Uni
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select the references by checking the box to the left of the reference.
- Click on the books icon at the top right of the results list.
- The Citation Export window will open. Make sure the box RIS file for 3rd party citation tool (EndNote, CitePro, EasyBib, Refworks, etc.) is selected, then click Download.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ OECD iLibrary
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, click on the title hyperlink of the desired reference
- A new window will open. Click on Cite this paper in the right-hand menu.
- The Cite this content as window will open; click on EndNote to the right of Export options.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ Persée
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, click on the desired article.
- Click on Bibliographical reference located above the article
- Select RIS (ProCite, EndNote...)
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ PsycARTICLES
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select the desired references by checking the box to the left of the reference.
- In the menu above the list of results, click on Export.
- In the next window, in the Export to menu, choose EndNote Desktop and click Go.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be downloaded.
+ PsycINFO
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select the desired references by checking the box to the left of the reference.
- In the menu above the list of results, click on Export.
- In the next window, in the Export to menu, choose EndNote Desktop and click Go.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be downloaded.
+ Repère
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select the desired references by clicking on the + icon and the folder located to the right of the reference.
- At the top right of the page, click on the folder (Panier de notices).
- A new window will open. Click on Notice (format RIS).
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ Sage Journals
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select citations by checking the box to the left of the citation.
- Click on Export selected citations located above the results.
- In the next window, from the Format menu, choose EndNote and click on Download Citation.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your citations will be imported.
+ ScienceDirect
Import type : direct
- From the list of results, select the desired references by checking the box to the left of the reference.
- Click on the Export button.
- In the window that opens, choose Export citation to RIS.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ ScienceDirect ebook
Import type : direct
- From the table of contents of a book, select the desired chapters.
- Click on the Export button.
- In the window that opens, choose Export citation to RIS.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your citations will be imported.
+ SpringerLink
Import type : direct
- After selecting the desired chapter or article, click on Download citation under the full document reference at the bottom of the page, then click on .RIS.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ Web of Science
Import type : direct
- From the list of search results, select the desired references by checking the box to the left of the reference.
- Click on Export... EndNote Desktop.
- In the "Export records to EndnoteDesktop" window click on Export
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
+ Wiley Online Library
Import type : directe
- Select the desired article.
- Above the summary, click on the Tools button, then select Export citation.
- In the Cite this following article window under Download Citation select EndNote then click on Download.
- Click on the downloaded file in your web browser.
- EndNote will open automatically and your references will be imported.
